Wednesday, February 02, 2011

Mutual Admiration Society Awards: Gorbachev to Honour 'People Who Have Changed the World' With a Unique Award


Mikhail Gorbachev, former President of the USSR and Nobel Peace Prize winner, will mark his 80th birthday by honouring people who have 'changed the world', his family announced today.

The first recipients of the Gorbachev Award will be outstanding people of today, whose contribution to the development of the world community should be valued on its merits. Their achievements in creating new technologies, revolutionary ideas in science and culture and their contribution to social endeavours have already changed and keep changing the world for the better.

The Members Committee for the "Mikhail Gorbachev - the Man Who Changed The World" charitable ceremony have shown their support and have proposed that Mr Gorbachev participates in the presentation of such an award, one that is more modern and open to all than existing awards. Members of the committee include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jose Carreras, Hugh Grant, Elizabeth Hurley, Bianca Jagger and Sir David Tang.

"Our aim is to honour the outstanding people of today, each of whom has changed the world for the better through their achievements in life," Mr Gorbachev said.

"Each and every one of us is capable of changing this world to better and the winners of the award, I am sure, will be an example for all of us."

The exclusive awards will be presented on March 30 2011 on stage of the Royal Albert Hall in London, as the climax of a charitable ceremony and gala concert "Mikhail Gorbachev - The Man Who Changed The World," that will mark his 80th birthday.

Among the stars who will perform at this gala are Bryan Ferry, Paul Anka, Katherine Jenkins, Shirley Bassey, Lara Fabian, Melanie C, the Scorpions, London Symphony Orchestra and Valery Gergiev, leading dancers from Bolshoi Ballet and Mariinsky Opera and Ballet,Igor Krutoi,Andrey Makarevich and "Mashina Vremeni," Dmitri Hvorostovsky-and this are only some of the names.

The gala will be hosted by Sharon Stone and Kevin Spacey.

Special guests of the ceremony include German Chancellor Angela Merkel, the President of State of Israel Shimon Peres, Boris Johnson, the Mayor of London, former British Prime Minister John Major, former Secretary of State of the United States George Shultz and former governor of California Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nobel Prize winners (from different years)and many others.

Proceeds from the gala event will go to Raisa Gorbachev Children's Institute for Transplantology and Haematology in Saint-Petersburg, Russia as well as the UK's leading cancer care charity Macmillan Cancer Support, who provide vital cancer support and campaign for improved cancer services in the UK.

Names of the nominees for this unique award will be announced shortly.