Monday, July 13, 2009

Gas: Five nations ink Nabucco agreement

FOCUS Information Agency - Austria, Bulgaria, Romania, Hungary and Turkey signed the transit agreement on Nabucco gas pipeline project, AFP reports.

The agreement was signed in the frames of the meeting of the prime minister of the four EU member states and Turkey, organized in Ankara.

Prime ministers Recep Tayyip Erdogan of Turkey, Sergey Stanishev of Bulgaria, Emil Boc of Romania, Gordon Bajnai of Hungary and Austrian Chancellor Werner Faymann inked the deal, a landmark in a long-delayed project, amid uncertainty on who will supply the gas.

European Commission chief Jose Manuel Barroso also took part in the signing ceremony.
Published by Mike Hitchen,
Putting principles before profits