Sunday, January 06, 2008

Environment: Japan announces list of "priority" countries for climate change aid

The Japanese government has announced a list of 41 priority countries for assistance under its ''financial mechanism'' on climate change for developing countries.

Government sources said that China and India, two of the largest emitters of greenhouse gases, are included in the 41 countries, mainly in Asia, Africa, and Central and South America, the sources said.

Among the 41, 11 countries have been designated as ''early implementation'' countries. The list comprises Kenya, Ethiopia, Gabon, Burkina Faso, Ghana and Madagascar in Africa, Indonesia and Malaysia in Asia, Guyana and Mexico in Central and South America, and Micronesia in Oceania.